Skip to content

Service Details

Detailed descriptions and operation methods of important elements and functions such as folders, files, users, etc. are provided.

»Webfolder


»What is a Webfolder?

It is an online storage space designed for quick creation and easy sharing without the need for complicated procedures.

  • file.kiwi has a unique link address. For example, file.kiwi/folderid/#securelongkeyrandomstring
  • Files can be placed within a folder without restrictions, but folders cannot be placed inside the folder. (It is not a tree structure.)
  • If there is a link address, you can open the folder right away, but if there is no address, you cannot open it.
  • It is not searchable within or outside the service.

»Create-Delete

  • Anyone can create a file at file.kiwi without logging in.
  • The person who created it can delete it directly.
  • The Free ‘Default Webfolder’ is automatically deleted if there are no visitors for more than 6 months.
  • The Euro Unlimited Webfolder is automatically deleted after the period specified at the time of purchase (3 days - 1 month).

Create a Webfolder in file.kiwi Home or Manage Webfolders.

»Types by use

‘Webfolder’ is divided into sharing, forwarding, and collection only depending on its purpose, and file read and write permissions are determined accordingly. It is set when the Webfolder is created and cannot be changed later. For sharing or collection purposes, you must log in.

»Delivery Webfolder

  • Only the Webfolder owner can upload files; others can only download them. It is suitable for file distribution.
  • For basic purposes, temporary members can only create a delivery-only Webfolder on file.kiwi.

»Shared Webfolder

  • Anyone who knows the Webfolder address can upload and download files.
  • After logging in, you can create it in Webfolder Management.

»Submission Webfolder

  • People other than the Webfolder owner can only upload. You can only view the files you uploaded, you cannot view the ‘All’ list.
  • Only the owner of the Webfolder can view and download the ‘All’ list of uploaded files.
  • Instead of providing your email address to multiple people to receive files, it is convenient to create a file collection link and forward it to them.
  • After logging in, you can create it in Webfolder Management.

»Free/Paid Webfolder

»file


»Creation-Deletion (by Member)

  • It is created as soon as the user begins uploading a file and becomes available for download.
  • In order for a user to delete, one of the following conditions must be met. (Applicable to both Sign up members/temporary members)
    1. Member who uploaded the file
    2. Member who created a Webfolder

➡️ Create file➡️ Delete file

»(automatically) expired - destroyed

  • Files uploaded to the free default folder become ‘expired’ (free downloads are limited) after a certain period of time. After that, it will be automatically deleted.➡️ Detailed explanation
  • Files uploaded to the paid unlimited folders do not ‘expired’ and are automatically deleted all at once when the folder is automatically deleted.

»encryption


»Processing Procedure

  • When the sender selects a file for upload, it is split into appropriate sizes.
  • Encrypts divided files. File names are also encrypted.
  • The encrypted file is uploaded to the server and stored.
  • The recipient decrypts the file after receiving it.
  • These files are combined to obtain and save the original.

»encryption method

  • Uses 128-bit AES-GCM end-to-end encryption.
  • The part after # in the Webfolder address is used as the key value. The strstrstr part in file.kiwi/xxxxx/#strstrstr
  • When the sender or recipient enters the folder address in the browser address bar, the request is made to the server without the # part.
  • The value of the card is not transmitted to the File Kiwi server.

»Member (User)


»‘Sign up’ Member

This refers to a user who uses the service by signing up and logging in.

»temporary member

This refers to a user who uses the service without Sign up and without logging in.

  • A temporary ID is automatically generated and saved in the browser.
  • Even if you close the browser and reconnect, your temporary membership rights will remain.
  • If you use a different browser or your browser site data is deleted, you will be recognized as a different member.